Michael James Shaffer

A little about myself

I am a returning student pursuing a degree program in Technical Communications. I am a former teacher, digital computer typesetter, medical transcriptionist and graphic designer. I was born in West Virginia, grew up in Ohio, and moved to California when I was 20 years old. I currently live in Sacramento. I plan to leave retirement once I've completed the degree program, and I would like to relocate to Washington state, or no further south than Eureka, California.

My computer experience

I have used computers since the early 1980s as a digital computer typesetter. Later, I used them for medical transcription, and later still, for graphic design. I taught computers, grades 1 - 6 in a local elementary school. I have used MACs while a yearbook instructor, but otherwise have used Windows. As described above, I primarily use PCs with the Windows operating system. I have several computers at home, once of which is devoted exclusively to graphic design, with Adobe software products and MS Office, including Photoshop, Dreamweaver, InDesign and QuarkXPress. My newer laptop is used for schoolwork, communications, and all typical daily activities, including entertainment.

What I know about the Web and Web publishing

I know the basics about the web and web publishing. However, my knowledge is strictly front-end user, creating blog content, building a website using Dreamweaver, bringing down or boosting up content such as downloading pdf files, etc. In short, I know only a little.

Why I am taking this class...

I am taking this class in pursuit of a degree in Technical Communications. I hope to learn more about the background of websites, as I previously have had experience with Dreamweaver only.

My favorite interests and hobbies are:

My Web Assignments